Cathedral of Our Lady
Nederlands Français Deutsch English Español








The biggest gothic church of the Low Lands is the pride of Antwerp. It was finished in 1521 after about 170 years of construction. The Northern tower (123m/404ft), which still rules the skyline, is "stone lacework". Inside, the outstretching room brings you into another dimension. What we see today is partly baroque, partly neo-gothic (of the 19th century). We can admire four works of Peter Paul Rubens, among them the Raising of the Cross and the Descent of the Cross, cultural heritage on a worldwide scale. There are a lot of other works of art, the contents, the stained-glass windows,...

 


Organisation chart
Kerkfabriek (church administration) The Cathedral of Our Lady is administered by a so-called "Kerkfabriek", a public institution that manages the material goods that are needed for the execution of church service in the parish. The "Kerkfabriek" is subject to the authority (...) (More...)
Description
A Cathedral never stands alone. Through secularisation and modern urbanization we forget that only the church controlled and carried out many social functions in the past. There was the care for education in the so-called Papenschool, for singing in the Choraelhuys (Choral house), for the poor at the Table of the Holy Ghost, for the sick in (More...)
Practical informations
Main entrance Handschoenmarkt B-2000 Antwerpen   Holy masses Monday to Friday: 18h (via entrance Groenplaats 21) Saturday: 16h, and 17h (organ) Sunday and holidays: 9h, 10h30 (choir and organ), 12h (organ), and 17h   Yearly masses August 14: Assumption (...) (More...)
Publications
Rudi Mannaerts, A key to the revelation of the Cathedral of Our Lady at Antwerp. Didactic syllabus for the guides, Antwerp, 2000. (Dutch, French, German, English, Spanish, Italian). € 6,50. M. Van Dyck, Guide „De Kathedraal O.-L.-Vrouwekathedraal Antwerpen" - English Edition, Antwerpen, 2003. (Dutch, French, (...) (More...)
Guided tours
The guided tours are provided by the guides of TOPA with the slogan: "To look at art: for more than a second".  Individual visits (free) In DutchMonday to Friday: 11h, and 14h15 (sometimes at 15h, and also at 15h45) Saturday: 11h, and 14h15 Sunday (...) (More...)
Public transport
By train Central Station By tram Trams 2, 3, 5, and 15 (stop Premetro Groenplaats). Trams 4, and 8 (stop Th. Van Rijswijckplaats).Trams 10, and 11 (stop Melkmarkt).Tram 7 (stop (...) (More...)
Agenda
 Consult also the General agenda of the Monumental Churches. For suggestions, contact C. (...) (More...)
In the neighbourhood
Ethnographic Museum This museum is 130 metres away from the Cathedral. When you exit cross Handschoenmarkt and turn right into Oude Koornmarkt and then go straight on to Suikerrui. In the ethnographic museum the non-European cultures are the main focus. A wide range of works of art and objects in daily use sketch the way of life (...) (More...)
Accomodation/hotels
This page is under construction...  Hotels which would like to be mentioned on this page can contact the coordinator of MCA (...) (More...)






(c) 2007 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by : ICT/ISCAM-PRODUCTION

Cathédrale Notre-Dame
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








La plus grande église gothique des Pays-Bas est la fierté d'Anvers.  Cette église fût achevée en 1521, soit170 ans après le début de sa construction. Sa tour Nord (123 m) - une dentelle de pierres - domine encore toujours le ciel d'Anvers.  L'espace intérieur vous conduit vers une autre dimension.  Ce que nous voyons aujourd'hui est partiellement baroque, partiellement néo-gothique (datant du 19e siècle) . 4 oeuvres de Rubens sont encore à admirer, dont l'"Erection de la Croix" et "La descente de la Croix de Jésus" qui font parties du patrimoine culturel mondial.  Il y a bien d'autres chefs d'oeuvres, le mobilier, les vitraux,.....
Présentation
Fabrique d'église La Cathédrale Notre-Dame est gerée par la fabrique d'église qui administre les biens matériels nécessaires à l'exercice du culte dans la paroisse. La fabrique d'église est soumise à la tutelle des autorités ecclésiastiques et civiles, c'est-à-dire (...) (Suite...)
Description
Une cathédrale n'existe pas que par elle-même. La sécularisation et l'urbanisation moderne nous font oublier que par le passé bon nombre de fonctions sociales n'étaient remplies que par l'église. Il y avait l'enseignement dans la ‘Papenschool' (l'école du Pape), le souci de soigner les chants dans la ‘Choraelhuys' (maison de la chorale), (Suite...)
Infos pratiques
Entrée principale Handschoenmarkt - B 2000 Antwerpen    Célébrations Eucharistiques Lundi-vendredi: 16h (entrée Handschoenmarkt) samedi: 16h, 17h (en anglais) dimanche et fêtes: 9h, 10h00 (chœur et orgues), 12h (orgues), 17h (les vêpres)   (...) (Suite...)
Publications
Rudi Mannaerts, Une clef pour la révélation de la Cathédrale. Syllabus didactique pour les guides, Anvers, 2000. (nl, fr, de, en, es, it). 6,50 EUR M. Van Dyck, Guide La cathédrale Notre-Dame d'Anvers, Anvers, 2003. (nl, fr, de, en, es, pl, ru, ja). 3,50 EUR Irene Smets, La (...) (Suite...)
Visites guidées
Les visites guidées sont organisées par les guides du groupe d'accueil de TOPA (Pastorale du Tourisme) dans l'esprit de : ‘Voir l'art, plus d'un coup d'œil‘. Pour visiteurs individuels (gratuit) En NéerlandaisLundi-vendredi 11h00 et 14h15 (parfois aussi à 15h00 et (Suite...)
Visite guidée Podcast
En préparation .... Avec ce module il sera possible de télécharger une visite guidés sur votre MP3 ou iPod avec écouteurs. Un plan sera égallement disponible. La visite guidée vous donnera des commentaires et des informations exclusives sur les principales oeuvres d'art dans (...) (Suite...)
Transports en commun
Train   Gare centrale Tram   2, 3, 5, 15 (arrêt premetro Groenplaats)            4, 8 (arrêt Groenplaats)             7 (arrêt Meirbrug) (...) (Suite...)
Agenda
  Pour toutes suggestions, contactez L. (...) (Suite...)
Dans les environs
Musée Ethnographique À 130 mètres de la Cathédrale, par le Handschoenmarkt (tout droit), le Oude Koornmarkt (à droite) et le Suikerrui (tout droit) ...   Le Musée Ethnographique mets l'accent sur les peuples non Européens. Un vaste choix de 2500 objets usuels ou d'art tentent (...) (Suite...)






(c) 2007 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by : ICT/ISCAM-PRODUCTION

Mentions legales popup