Description
Nederlands Franšais Deutsch English








A Cathedral never stands alone. Through secularisation and modern urbanization we forget that only the church controlled and carried out many social functions in the past. There was the care for education in the so-called Papenschool, for singing in the Choraelhuys (Choral house), for the poor at the Table of the Holy Ghost, for the sick in the Our Lady's Guest house, and for the dead in the church graveyard, nowadays the Groenplaats. Later the Bishop's Palace, a public library and the diocesan seminary followed. When the carillon plays on Monday during a summer evening you realise how much the church forms part of the local scene and in the real town atmosphere.


History
The history of the largest gothic church building of the Low Lands starts in 1124. An old chapel became a parish church, which resulted in a respectable church in Romanesque style. Next, it was replaced from 1352 on, by the now existing gothic church. It took 170 years before it was finished in its contemporary (...) (More...)
The church building
The unique and elegant tower of our Lady is the symbol of Antwerp and remains the pride of all citizens, so-called "sinjoren". The construction of the church really reached its "highlight" in 1518: 123m. It is hard to imagine how such a sturdy base can slowly be transformed and finally be dissolved into thin air. A (...) (More...)
Highlights
The Cathedral is best known for the paintings by Rubens like the "Raising of the Cross" and the "Descent of the Cross", moving theatrical scenes which invite you once again to witness the drama of Jesus' suffering and death. These world famous creations by Rubens with their splendid colours and typical diagonal baroque (...) (More...)






(c) 2007 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by : ICT/ISCAM-PRODUCTION

Description
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








Une cathédrale n'existe pas que par elle-même. La sécularisation et l'urbanisation moderne nous font oublier que par le passé bon nombre de fonctions sociales n'étaient remplies que par l'église. Il y avait l'enseignement dans la ‘Papenschool' (l'école du Pape), le souci de soigner les chants dans la ‘Choraelhuys' (maison de la chorale), la charité envers les pauvres à la Table du Saint Esprit, envers les malades en l'hospice Notre-Dame, sans oublier les morts dans les cimetières, entre autre sur l'actuelle Place Verte. Plus tard s'y ajouteront le palais épiscopal, une bibliothèque publique et le séminaire diocésain. Lorsque résonne le carillon les lundi soirs d'été, vous pouvez ressentir combien cette église continue à faire partie intégrante de son quartier et participe à l'animation citadine.
Histoire
L'histoire de la plus grande église gothique du Benelux débute en 1124. une vielle chapelle se vit promue au rang d'église paroissiale, ce qui déboucha sur la construction d'une grande église Romane. À partir de 1352 elle fut remplacée par l'actuelle église Gothique. Il fallu compter 170 années (...) (Suite...)
Le monument
L'élégante tour Notre-Dame, unique en son genre, est le symbole d'Anvers et fait encore toujours la fierté de ses habitants. L'apogée de la construction de l'église fut atteinte en 1518 : 123 m de hauteur. C'est un spectacle incroyable : comment une tour, si massive à sa base, peut-elle ainsi s'élancer dans le ciel pour finalement s'y (...) (Suite...)
A voir impérativement
La Cathédrale est surtout connue pour les tableaux de Rubens, tels que ‘l'Erection de la Croix' et ‘La Descente de Croix'. Tous deux forment des scènes théâtrales, invitants le spectateur à revivre le drame de la Passion et de la Mort de Jésus. Avec leurs coloris éclatants et leur composition diagonale typiquement baroque, ces (...) (Suite...)






(c) 2007 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by : ICT/ISCAM-PRODUCTION

Mentions legales popup