Cultural heritage
Nederlands Franšais Deutsch English








The high altar: more than a panel

The massive high altar is the first thing to attract attention when entering a Baroque Jesuit church. It has developed into a portico altar with a huge screen visible to everybody, even those in the last row. The altarpiece is 5,35m high. To fulfil its role as an eye-catcher the painting above the high altar can be replaced. This change can be effected by a unique mechanism installed by the Antwerp Jesuits. Behind the altar immense slots have been placed to accomodate four paintings. A painting is placed into position by means of a hoist, according to the theme needed in the liturgical calendar.

 

According to the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius the spiritual awareness aroused by a biblical scene encourages further reflection. Especially as visual art, it is possible for the worshipper to share the emotions of Christ or the saints represented. For this reason it helds a key position in the comprehension of a Baroque church, especially with the Jesuits.

 

Painted by the hand of Rubens (1617-18) were two of the original four paintings, St. Ignatius and St. Francis Xavier. At the abolishment of the Jesuit order in 1773 both paintings were bought for the Imperial Gallery in Vienna, now the Kunsthistorisches Museum. The other two paintings can still be admired alternately: The Crowning of Mary (Cornelis Schut) remained in the church; The Raising of the Cross (Gerard Zegers) was purchased back in 1839. Today, Our Lady of Carmel is also part of the three altar paintings. This painting by G. Wappers, commissioned by the arch brotherhood in 1840 together the sculpture of the same name came from the former Carmelite convent on the Meir. And who has a good suggestion for a fourth - contemporary - painting?

 

The Confessionals
To support the private character of confession, the Council of Trent (1545-1563) created new church furniture: the confessional. Adjusted to the body language the person confessing kneels before the priest to express his repentance. The priest, sitting in the centre, listens alternately to one confession after the other. By avoiding eye contact, anonymity is maintained, and free speech is stimulated. This is a form of psychology pre-empting the psychologist couch of Freud...


The large number of confessionals in this Jesuit church serves a purpose. The confession is very popular - at Easter up to 4'000 confessions a day - next to the 16 confessionals on the lower floor 6 more were added on the galleries for the men. Christians prefer to confess their sins anonymously, preferably to some unknown priest rather than to their familiar one. The confessionals in the side aisles, attributed to J. P. Van Baurscheit (ca. 1720), are part of the panelling. Originally there were ten, now rest eight, whereof six are original.

 

It is obvious that the themes of the figurative compositions had something to do with confession, the struggle between good and evil, and the consecutive stages of sin, sorrow, forgiveness and penitence. The angels on the side are iconographically of no importance, but the two angels with symbols in the centre. Some examples: the awareness of our own mortality has to help us appreciate the value of good or bad. St. Ignatius advises everyone to meditate on the end of one's life and so be very aware of the struggle between good and evil. Therefore an angel meditating over a skull with worms. Next an angel with tally stick, while the one on the other side wipes the slate clean with a sponge. How merciful is God's forgiveness: whatever your sins wipe the slate clean and you can make a fresh start. Which visitor will not stop for a moment and consider reflecting on the meaning of reconciliation and maybe breathing a sigh of relief.

 

The Our Lady's Chapel: an unusual spectacle
Even more spectacular than the confessionals is the appearance of Madonna in the exquisitely rich Our Lady's Chapel. The completion of the chapel was possible thanks to the patronage of the three sisters Houtappel from the village of Ranst, who lived as "spiritual daughters" according to the spiritual rules of the Jesuits. This sumptuous chapel is the only place in Antwerp where you are seduced by playful Baroque art. Here Baroque is smiling at you with the natural capricious lines of marble: charming painted marble panels, lifelike flowers, corncobs and grapes, a ceiling in stucco with symbolic honorary titles of Mary, the mask-like styled consoles and reliefs. Who would not leave with in a joyfully mood? Luckily the fire of 1718 spared this jewel.

 

The variety of marble is so rich that for a long time it was stated that it came from antique Roman palaces. Recognize two panels at the back of the chapel, showing such a richness of colours that they can compete with the best non-figurative paintings. Pay attention to the technique to get two symmetric compositions. A bloc of veined marble was sawn in two so that the veins of the marble were divided in two blocs along the parting line. When both halves were put opposite each other the one half is the mirror image of the other.

 

The Baroque arsenal of decorative elements shows itself exuberantly. Masks are found on the white marble pilasters of the triumphal arch and on nearly all capitals of the confessionals. Alongside there are many stylised faces, garlands and festoons, horns of plenty, stylised sunflowers, scallops and cartouches.

 

The predella wall: the life of mother and child

You can follow Mary's life from ten very remarkable scenes, painted by Hendrik I Van Balen (1560-1632) on the side marble walls and as predella for the altar. The Baroque playfulness is emphasized by the veins of the ochre brown marble, which are integrated in the landscape as rocks while the white marble was used to highlight the big temple architecture.

 

The altarpiece: The Assumption of Mary (Rubens)


On a huge altarpiece, flanked by two twisted Tuscan pillars, the highlight of Mary's life is to be seen: her assumption painted by the master, Rubens. Around 1611 the church administration of Our Lady's Cathedral decided to order a new altarpiece for the high altar. Both Otto van Veen and rubens presented a sketch of the "Crowning of Mary", but neither was selected by the chapter. Instead, a second sketch by Rubens of the assumption of Mary was chosen. On painting this panel the lower half reflects Ruben's design - in mirror image - the Crowning of Mary. This is now kept in the Hermitage in St. Petersburg. The completed painting (finished in 1613) never arrived at the Cathedral. It was finally placed in the Our Lady's chapel, which was only built after 1620. In 1776 Empress Mary Theresa bought the painting and it now hangs in the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna. In 1925 parishioners of St. Charles Borromeo had a copy made of the original so that a global impression of the original ensemble is given here.

 

The altar rail

The marble altar rail replaces a wooden one. This Eucharist furniture is a present from Anna Houtappel (1657), the last survivor of the family. Central is the crowned name of Mary. Her flower symbols, the rose of the chosen one and the lily of her purity, are entwined with the plant-like symbols of Jesus in the Eucharist: corncobs (in place of small cornstalks) for the bread of the host, the body of Christ, grapes for the wine, the blood of Christ.

 

Ceiling reliefs with honorary titles of Mary

The principal theme of the chapel's ceiling is the name of Mary surrounded by a number of her symbols that are mentioned in the litany of Our Lady, the so-called Litany of Loreto. It has been established that P. P. Rubens designed the stucco. A sketch of his hand can be found in the Albertina in Vienna. But the sculptor Andries Colijns de Nole was also once named. 

 

The sculptures of Saints
Out of the workshop of Colijns de Nole six life-size white marble sculptures were commissioned. Four were chosen as patron saints by the commissioners, the sisters Houtappel and their niece Anna ‘s Grevens: the saints Anne, Christine, Catherine of Alexandria and Susanna. Donor of the chapel was Godfridus Houtappel, lord of Ranst and Zevenbergen. His gravestone is situated in front of the altar and underneath it is the crypt of the family. The coat-of-arms of the Houtappel and the related ‘s Grevens family are included in the wall decoration.








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Le patrimoine
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








Le maître-autel : plus qu'une table

 

Ce qui frappe l'œil en entrant dans une église jésuite baroque c'est le gigantesque maître-autel. C'est un autel à portique doté d'un immense écran visible de tous, jusqu'au dernier rang. Le retable fait 5,35 m. de haut. Et pour renforcer encore son rôle l'autel renferme une disposition permettant d'aisément remplacer le tableau. Pour y arriver les jésuites Anversois ont lis au point un système unique. Derrière l'autel se trouve un grand bac, muni de quatre fosses profondes, pouvant abriter quatre grands tableaux. Suivant le propre des temps liturgiques de l'année, un mécanisme à poulies permet de mettre en place le tableau approprié.  


La méditation préconisée dans les Exercices Spirituels d'Ignace fait appel à la contemplation de scènes bibliques pour amorcer la réflexion. C'est par la visualisation que l'on est amené à s'impliquer fortement dans la situation vécue par le Christ ou par le saint. De là l'importance donnée à la vue dans une église baroque, encore plus chez les jésuites.


Deux des quatre tableaux originaux, Saint Ignace et Saint François-Xavier, sont de la main de Rubens (1617-18). Lors de la suppression de l'ordre des jésuites en 1173, ils trouvèrent acquéreur en la galerie impériale à Vienne, aujourd'hui le Kunsthistorisches Museum. Les deux autres tableaux sont encore toujours exposés alternativement : Le couronnement de Marie (Cornelis Schut) resté sur place, et L'érection de la Crois (Gerard Zegers), racheté en 1839. Notre Dame du Carmel participe également au roulement des retables. Cette œuvre de G. Wappers était une commande de la confrérie alors qu'en 1840 celle-ci fut transférée vers cette église en provenance de l'ancien couvent des carmélites sur le Meir. En même temps d'ailleurs que la statue du même nom. Quelqu'un aurait-il une bonne idée pour un quatrième tableau, contemporain celui-là ?

 

Les confessionnaux

Afin de préserver le caractère privé de la confession, le Concile de Trente (1545-1563) créa un nouveau meuble d'église : le confessionnal. En accord avec le langage du corps, le pénitent y exprime sa contrition en s'agenouillant humblement. Le prêtre, assis au centre, écoute les pénitents en alternance. Le fait de ne pas regarder le pénitent, en peine avec sa conscience, dans les yeux, facilite la conversation; témoignant ainsi d'une psychologie pleine de tact quelques siècles avant le sofa de Freud ...

Le grand nombre de confessionnaux que compte cette église correspond à un besoin. l'affluence est telle - jusqu'à 4.000 pénitents par jour dans la période pascale - qu'aux seize confessionnaux en bas, on en ajoute encore six pour les hommes sur la galerie. Ce qui ne supporte pas la lumière du jour se confesse plus facilement auprès d'un père anonyme, qu'auprès de son propre curé. Les confessionnaux des nefs latérales, attribués à J.P. Van Baurscheit (ca.1720), font partie du lambris. De dix à l'origine, il en reste huit, dont six originaux..

Il va de soi que le thème des décors est lié à la confession. De là le combat entre le bien et le mal, ainsi que les étapes successives du péché, de la contrition, du pardon et de la pénitence. Les anges aux extrémités n'ont pas de signification iconographique, mais bien les deux anges du milieu, munis d'attributs. Quelques exemples : prendre conscience d'être éphémère doit aider à mieux discerner le bien et le mal. Saint Ignace avise chacun de prendre l'heure de sa mort en considération afin de prendre mieux conscience du combat entre le bien et le mal. De là cet ange qui médite sur une tête de mort rongée par les vers. Ou encore cet ange avec une taille, alors qu'au revers un autre ange efface l'ardoise avec une éponge. Quel bien nous fait le pardon de Dieu : quoi que l'on ait sur la conscience, l'éponge efface tout et nous voilà prêt à recommencer avec une ardoise vierge. Invitation au visiteur de réfléchir sur la valeur de la réconciliation et, qui sait, de repartir soulagé.

 

La chapelle Mariale : un spectacle hors du commun

C'est encore plus de spectacle qui nous attend dans l'incroyablement riche chapelle dédiée à Notre dame. Cette réalisation a été rendue possible par le mécénat des trois sœurs Houtappel de Ranst, de leur vivant des ‘filles spirituelles' dans la spiritualité Ignacienne. Cette fantastique chapelle est à Anvers l'endroit idéal pour se laisser emporter par l'enjouement du baroque. Ici le baroque vient à vous tout sourient dans le jeu capricieux des nervures sur les panneaux de marbre, d'autres joliment peints, les fleurs plus vraies que nature, les épis de maïs et les grappes de raisins en marbre, un plafond en stuc arborant les titres honorifiques de la Notre Dame, les masques stylisés ou non sur les consoles et les reliefs. Qui ne repartirait pas d'ici le sourire aux lèvres ? Encore heureux que ce joyeux sorti indemne de l'incendie de 1718.

Il y a une telle variété de marbres, que l'on a longtemps prétendu qu'ils provenaient d'antiques palais Romains. Remarquez entre autres les deux panneaux à l'arrière de la chapelle, d'une telle richesse dans leurs coloris qu'ils peuvent rivaliser avec le plus beau tableau non figuratif. Avez-vous vu comment obtenir une composition parfaitement symétrique ? Sciez un bloc de marbre bien nervuré en deux et placez-les côte à côte de façon à faire coïncider les nervures. Cela vous donne une image parfaitement réfléchie.


En fait c'est tout l'arsenal d'éléments décoratifs qui se déploie ici de façon exubérante. Des masques sont apposés sur les pilastres en marbre blanc de l'arc de triomphe, ainsi que sur quasiment tous les chapiteaux des confessionnaux. Et puis il y a encore d'innombrables faces stylisées, des guirlandes et des festons, des cornes d'abondance, des tournesols stylises, des coquillages et des cartouches.

L'ensemble autour de la prédelle : la vie de la Mère et de l'Enfant
La vie de Marie est détaillée sur dix très remarquables scènes, peintes par Henri I Van Balen (1560-1632) sur les parois de marbre, à coté de l'autel et comme prédelle. Ce qui se remarque ici c'est le bonheur avec lequel dans certaines scènes les nervures dans le marbre brun-ocre se prêtent à représenter les parties rocheuses, alors qu'à d'autres endroits le rendu de l'architecture du temple est confié à du marbre blanc.

Le retable : l'Assomption de Marie (Rubens)

Entre deux colonnes Toscanes torsadées s'élève, majestueusement au-dessus du maître-autel, le point culminant dans la vie de Marie : son Assomption, peinte par Rubens. Aux environs de 1611 la fabrique d'église de la cathédrale Notre-Dame passe commande d'un nouveau retable pour le maître-autel. Le chapitre ne se décide finalement pas pour un Couronnement de Marie, pour lequel Otto van Veen et Rubens avaient tous deux soumis un projet, mais pour un second projet de Rubens ayant l'Assomption comme thème. Le dessous de ce tableau reprend - en miroir - le projet de Rubens pour le Couronnement, tel que présentement conservé à Saint Petersbourg dans le Musée de l'Hermitage. Cette version, terminée en 1613, n'est jamais parvenue dans la Cathédrale, mais est aboutie dans cette chapelle, construite elle après 1620. En 1776 l'impératrice Marie-Thérèse acheta le tableau, qui aujourd'hui se trouve au Kunsthistorisches Museum de Vienne. En 1925 les paroissiens de Charles-Borromée ont fait faire une copie de l'original. De cette façon nous avons quand même une idée de l'ensemble original.


Le banc de communion
Le banc de communion en marbre remplace l'exemplaire antérieur en bois. Ce meuble eucharistique est un présent d'Anna Houtappel (1657), la dernière survivante de sa famille. Le nom couronné de Marie occupe la place centrale. Ses symboles fleuris : la rose de son élection et le lys de sa pureté s'entrelacent avec les symboles végétaux de Jésus dans l'Eucharistie : des épis de maïs (au lieu d'épis de blé) pour le pain de l'hostie, Corps du Christ, et des raisins pour le vin, Sang du Christ.


Plafond à reliefs avec les titres honorifiques de Marie
Le motif principal du plafond de la chapelle est le Nom de Marie entouré d'une bonne part des symboles mariaux qui figurent dans la litanie de Notre-Dame, dite Litanie de Loreto. Une étude de la main de Rubens, conservée dans l'Albertina de Vienne, prouve bien que P.P. Rubens en est le concepteur. Le stuc même quand à lui est communément attribué au sculpteur Andries Colyns de Nole.

Les statues des saints
Des six statues grandeur nature en marbre sorties de l'atelier de Colyns de Nole, quatre furent destinées à représenter les saints patrons des donateurs, les sœurs Houtappel et leur nièce Anna 's Grevens: les Saintes Anne, Christine, Catherine d'Alexandrie et Susanne. Le mécène de la chapelle est Godefroid Houtappel, seigneur de Ranst et de Zevenbergen. Sa pierre tombale se trouve devant l'autel et le caveau de famille est situé sous l'autel. Les blasons des Houtappel et de la famille alliée ‘s Grevens figurent dans les décorations murales.








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Mentions legales popup