Cultural heritage
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








In St. Paul's church the baroque interior is whimsically reconciled with a gothic building: playful baroque and firm gothic live harmoniously next to each other. No single piece appears individually in the foreground, everything is integrated in a balanced entity. The Antwerp sculpors and painters did create an ensemble in St. Paul's church that is unique.

 


The high altar is a monumental baroque portico altar. Peter I Verbruggen and his son Peter II realized it in 1670. The white and black marble reminds us of the colours of the Dominicans: white is the colour of poverty; black is the colour of the mourning because of sin. The whole altar is by the way a witness to the increasing faith of the time of the Counter Reformation. There are two allegorical figures sitting above the Entablature, on the volutes, "Fides" (Faith) and "Veritas" (Truth). "In Fide et Veritate" was the slogan of the Dominicans. The woman to the left is holding a cross and a cup as signs of faith. The woman to the right is holding a sun, a palm leaf and a book, as symbols of truth. This high altar was ordered by Ambrosius Capello, seventh bishop of Antwerp and old prior of the Dominican monastery. He is shown at the bottom of the left column, underneath the figure of the holy Ambrosius.


A magnificent group of sculptures stands in the main nave against the first pillar to the right. It is an early piece (1644) in stone of the famous Antwerp sculptor Artus I Quellin (1609-1668). Mary is holding the infant Jesus in front of her and helps him to bless the passers-by. At the same time she assists him in carrying the heavy globe in his left hand. To the left and right Joseph and Anne are positioned. From above two little angels are approaching with a laurel wreath. The whole structure was designed in a sober rubenesque style, characteristic of the early period of Artus I Quellin before he went to Amsterdam to design the interior and exterior decoration of the City Hall on the Dam street.


The tomb of Ophovius dates from 1637 and was made from marble and stone of Avesne. The infant Jesus is standing on the knees of his mother and offers a rosary to the kneeling bishop. The sculpture of Ophovius, bishop of Den Bosch and prior of the Antwerp Dominicans, is attributed to Hans van Mildert. On top of the grave monument sits a weeping putto with an hourglass, a skull and a torch turned upside down. Time runs down way to fast for everybody...

 

 


Sculptural art really is abundant here: altars and altar rails, choir stalls and organ, epitaphs and doors, and especially the confessionals with no less than 40 life-sized figures and richly sculptured decorations. Exceptional professional work by amongst others Kerricx, Verbrugghen, Quellin, with distinctive Flemish accents of liveliness and narration, especially at the confessionals where the inner struggle of a human being between good and bad is illustrated with bewildering creativity. If we talk about the scampering dogs, roaring lions, fighting cocks, horny monkeys or a true "scapegoat", their power as an allegory of evil in every respect has to be moderated and tamed. The richness of the fantasy of all these edifying symbols is impossible to assess: a dancing skeleton reminds us about the momentariness of life, a butterfly, about resurrection to an unconceivable new life. Kids games like rounders, blowing bubbles, and a cat-and-mouse game (!) have to suggest heavenly virtue, without spoiling the party... A timeless message. And - as if this is not sufficient - there is a real sculpture garden as a live open-air theatre.


There is more. The painting "the seven works of charity" testifies to the social conditions of our ancestors. The set of naval paintings: "the naval battle of Lepanto" (J. Petters, 1671) illustrates another piece of European history. St. Paul's as well can talk about art dealership and (especially) changes in art history. Multiple works were bought by foreign visitors/occupiers or were taken without payment: the price of success! Now the visitor can delight himself with a whole series of publications that were realized by the St. Paul's friends.

 

Nowhere else in Antwerp do you find so many masks. Up to the cloister they smile at you, each with its own grimace: a psychological tactic to cheer up the daily routine a bit.


The monumental baroque church can flaunt brilliant art, the most precious materials, yet the interior airs a whimsical brightness that testifies of joyful faith and trust in god. It is a world of light and movement: wherever you look between the choir stalls and the confessionals, everywhere angels are alert and wave, and swing at you. Playful and fleet-footed, gentle and full of pity they look at you, inviting you to join them in their game.


The imposing organ, which belongs to the Top Ten historical organs in Europe, brings you even more delight. Peter I Verbruggen carved the monumental organ case between 1654 and 1658 after a sketch of Erasmus II Quellinus. The original instrument was by Nicolaes van Haegen. In 1730-32 the famous Jean-Baptiste Forceville enlarged the organ. After the neglect of the French Revolution is was altered once more by Jean-Joseph Delhaye. Together with orchestra and choir it touches the feelings of worshippers in solemn orchestral masses on feast days. Not to be missed!








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Le patrimoine
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








Dans l'église Saint-Paul, l'intérieur baroque est merveilleusement réconcilié avec le bâtiment gotique. Le baroque frivole et la rigueur gothique vivent en harmonie l'un à côté de l'autre. Aucune pièce ne prend le devant, tout est intégré dans un ensemble équilibré. Les sculpteurs et les peintres Anversois ont réalisé à Saint-Paul un ensemble unique.

Le maître-autel est un autel portique baroque monumental. Il fut réalisé en 1670 par Peter I Verbruggen et son fils Peter II. Les marbres blanc et noir évoquent les couleurs propres aux  Dominicains: le blanc est la couleur de la pauvreté, le noir la couleur du deuil après le péché. L'autel entier témoigne du vécu de la foi au temps de la Contre-Réforme. Au-dessus de la corniche, sur les volutes, se trouvent deux figures allégoriques: 'Fides' (la Foi) et 'Veritas' (la Vérité). 'In Fide et Veritate' est la devise des Dominicains. La dame à gauche tient une croix et un calice, attributs de la Foi. Celle de droite tient un soleil, une palme et un livre, symbolisant la Vérité. Le commanditaire de ce maître-autel était Ambrosius Capello, septième évêque d'Anvers et ancien prieur du couvent des Dominicains. Il est portraité au pied du pilier gauche, en tant que Saint Ambroise.

Sur la droite de la nef centrale, au pied du premier pilier, se trouve un magnifique groupe de sculptures. C'est une œuvre précoce (1644) en pierre du célèbre sculpteur Anversois Artus I Quellin (1609-1668). Marie tient l'enfant Jésus devant elle et l'aide à bénir les passants. En même temps elle soutient le globe pesant que porte son fils dans sa main gauche. Joseph et Anne se tiennent de chaque côté. Au-dessus, deux anges en vol apportent une couronne de lauriers. L'ensemble est conçu dans un style très Rubénien, caractéristique pour les œuvres précoces d'Artus I Quellin, avant qu'il ne parte pour Amsterdam afin d'y travailler à la décoration intérieure et extérieure du nouvel hôtel de ville.


La tombe d' Ophovius, datant de 1637, est érigée en pierre d'Avesnes. L'enfant Jésus, debout sur les genoux de sa mère, tend un rosaire à l'évêque agenouillé. Cette statue d'Ophovius, évêque de Bois-le-Duc et prieur des Dominicains Anversois, est attribuée à Hans van Mildert. Un putto, assis en pleurs au-dessus du monument funéraire, tient un sablier, une tête de mort et une torche renversée. Pour chacun de nous le temps passé trop vite...

 

 


L'art de la sculpture y surabonde: autels et banc de communion, stalles et orgues, épitaphes et portails, et surtout les confessionnaux comportant 40 figures grandeur nature et des lambris richement sculptés. Œuvres exceptionnelles d'hommes de métier, tels que Kerricx, Verbrugghen, Quellin, à caractère très Flamand, narratif et vivant. Cela frappe surtout dans les confessionnaux qui illustrent le combat du bien et du mal dans le cœur de l'homme avec une créativité débordante. Chiens impétueux, lions rugissants, coqs de combats, singes polissons ou un vrai ‘bouc émissaire', de tous ces figurants du mal, la force doit être freinée et domptée. Ces symboles se veulent éducatifs, leur riche fantaisie est insondable: un squelette dansant vous invite à réfléchir sur la vanité ; un papillon est signe de retour à une vie nouvelle incroyable. Des jeux d'enfant, tels que la balle pelote, des bulles de savon, le jeu au chat et à la souris, incitent à pratiquer les vertus célestes, sans se priver de joie de vivre... Un message hors du temps. Et - en plus - un ensemble théâtral de statues.

 

Et ce n'est pas tout. La peinture ‘Les sept œuvres de miséricorde' témoigne de la situation sociale dans laquelle vivaient nos ancêtres. Les marines ‘La bataille navale de Lépante' (J. Peeters, 1671) illustrent quant à elles un bout d'histoire de l'Europe. ‘Saint Paul' peut aussi témoigner du commerce, et surtout du trafic, d'art. Plus d'une œuvre fut soit achetée soit emportée sans payer par des visiteurs ou occupants étrangers: la rançon du succès! Aujourd'hui le touriste peut se délecter de toute une série de publications réalisées par les dévoués ‘Amis de Saint Paul' (Sint-Paulusvrienden).


Nulle part ailleurs à Anvers vous ne trouverez autant de masques. Ils vous surprennent jusque dans le cloître, chacun avec sa propre grimace : une astuce psychologique pour égayer la vie au quotidien.


Cette église baroque monumentale peut parader avec des œuvres d‘art des plus éclatantes et des matériaux des plus précieux. Néanmoins son intérieur rayonne d'une miraculeuse légèreté qui témoigne d'une foi joyeuse et de confiance en Dieu. C'est un monde de lumière et de mouvement: des stalles à la chaire, de toute part vous voyez des anges qui veillent, qui vous bercent, vous appellent et vous font signe. Légers et enjoués, tendres et emplis de compassion, ils vous regardent et vous invitent à vous laisser entrainer à leurs jeux.


Les orgues imposantes vous apportent encore plus de joie. Elles figurent parmi les 10 instruments les plus importants de ce genre en Europe. L'imposant buffet d'orgues fut sculpté de 1654 à 1658 par Peter I Verbruggen d'après un projet d'Erasmus II Quellinus. L'instrument original était de la main de Nicolaes van Haegen. Le célèbre Jean-Baptiste Forceville agrandira l'instrument en 1730-32. Délaissé pendant la Révolution Française, il fut retransformé en 1824 par Jean-Joseph Delhaye. Aux jours de fête, c'est avec chœur et orchestre que les orgues émeuvent l'assistance lors des célébrations solennelles. À ne pas manquer!








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Mentions legales popup