The 15 mysteries of the Rosary
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








 

 

The series of the 15 mysteries of the Rosary was ordered around 1617 for the northern aisle of the Dominican church. Eleven of the best painters of Antwerp of the time were involved, among them Hendrik van Balen, Peter Paul Rubens, Jacob Jordaens and Antoon Van Dyck.


The Dominicans themselves did not order the series. The commissioners were all members of the Brotherhood of Our Lady of the Rosary: 

 



Jan van den Broek, since 1611 member of the Brotherhood and at the same time city eleemosynary,



Adam Verjuys,



Mrs. Wissekercke,



Peter Bouvrey and Jan-Baptist de Vos,



Magdalena Lewieter,



Louis Clarisse,


the widow Vloers,



Peeter Sproenck,



the widow Capello,



Mr. Colijns,



Cornelis Verbeeck,



and at last the only Dominican: padre Joannes Boucquet, prior of the monastery and in all likelihood the inspiration behind the cycle. He founded the Brotherhood of the Rosary in Lier in 1605 and similarly in Mechelen in 1616.

 

The dating of the series to 1617 is not taken from the archives, but from a 19th century inscription on the panel of Rubens that was attached about 1818-24. But stylistically the dating is surely challengeable.

 

As we see on an interior sight of Peter I Neefs from 1636 (Amsterdam, Rijksmuseum), the 15 paintings were hanging on the northern wall, above the confessionals just as they are today. From west to east the 15 mysteries are following on after the other:

 



first the five joyful mysteries



The Annunciation,



The Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth,



The Nativity,



The Presentation at the Temple,



Jesus at the Temple.



than the five painful mysteries



Gethsemane,



The Flagellation,



The Thorn crowning,



The bearing of the cross,



The Crucifixion.



and at last the five glorious mysteries



The Resurrection,



The Ascension,



Whitsun,



The Assumption of Mary,



The coronation of the Virgin.

Between The Thorn crowning of Antoon de Bruyn and The bearing of the cross by Antoon van Dyck the La Madonna del Rosario of Caravaggio was put. In 1623 Rubens, Jan I Brueghel, Hendrik van Balen and others bought this painting (now in Vienna in the Kunsthistorisches Museum) for 1'800 gulden and presented it to the brotherhood. In 1651 the line-up was changed. The painting of Caravaggio was chosen as altarpiece for the new altar of the Rosary in the northern transept.




The Dominicans of Antwerp seized the opportunity to found the Brotherhood of the Rosary after the naval battle at Lepanto, where a catholic fleet defeated the Turks on October 7, 1571. This victory happened thanks to the praying to the Rosary, an initiative of the Dominican pope Pius V. That explains why the Dominicans show a special affection for the Rosary, which was also shown over the Dominican monastery in Antwerp: in paintings, sculptures, reliefs, and especially on the details of the confessionals. The brotherhood is still in existence, and throughout the centuries has presented several pieces of art to St. Paul's church, among them four canvases about the Battle of Lepanto by Jan Petters in 1671 and four stained-glass windows by Marc de Groot in 1971.

 








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Les quinze mystères du Rosaire
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








La série des quinze mystères du Rosaire fut commandée aux environs de 1617 pour la nef latérale nord de l'église des Dominicains. Onze peintres Anversois, parmi les meilleurs de l'époque, mirent la main à la pâte, entre autres Hendrik van Balen, Pierre Paul Rubens, Jacques Jordaens en Antoine Van Dyck.


Cette série ne fut pas commandée par les Dominicains eux-mêmes. Les commanditaires étaient tous membres de la Confrérie de Notre-Dame du Rosaire:



Jan van den Broek, maître de la Confrérie du Rosaire depuis 1611 et également aumônier de la ville.


Adam Verjuys,

demoiselle Wissekercke,


Peter Bouvrey et Jan-Baptist de Vos,


Magdalena Lewieter,


Louis Clarisse,


la veuve Vloers,


Peeter Sproenck,


la veuve Capello,


le sieur Colijns,


Cornelis Verbeeck


et pour terminer, le seul Dominicain : le père Joannes Boucquet, prieur du couvent et plus que probablement l'inspirateur du cycle. Il fut le fondateur d'une Confrérie du Rosaire à Lierre en 1605 et ensuite à Malines en 1616.

 

La datation 1617 de la série n'est pas confirmée par des documents archivés, mais indiquée par une inscription sur les panneaux ajoutés entre 1818-24 au tableau de Rubens. Cette datation est toutefois défendable d'un point de vue stylistique.

Comme le démontre la vue intérieure peinte en 1636 par Peter I Neeffs (Amsterdam, Rijksmuseum), ces quinze tableaux étaient suspendus, tour comme aujourd'hui encore, tout au long de la paroi nord au-dessus des confessionnaux. Les quinze mystères se suivent d'ouest en est :



D'abord les cinq mystères joyeux


l'Annonciation faite à Marie,


la Visitation de Marie à Elisabeth,


la Nativité de Jésus,


la Présentation de Jésus au Temple,


Jésus est retrouvé au Temple.



Ensuite les cinq mystères douloureux


l'Agonie au Jardin des Oliviers,


la Flagellation de Jésus,


le Couronnement d'épines,


le Portement de la Croix,


le Crucifiement.



Et enfin les cinq mystères glorieux :


la Résurrection,

 



l'Ascension, 


la Pentecôte, 


l'Assomption de Marie,


le Couronnement de Marie.

 

Entre Le Couronnement d'épines d'Antoine de Bruyn et Le Portement de la Croix d'Antoine Van Dyck, on intercala La Madonna del Rosario de Caravaggio. Ce tableau (aujourd'hui à Vienne, Kunsthistorisches Museum) fut acheté en 1623 par Rubens, Jan I Brueghel, Hendrik van Balen et d'autres pour 1.800 florins et offert à la Confrérie. En 1651 le tableau de Caravaggio déménage : il est désigné pour devenir le retable du nouvel autel du Rosaire dans le transept nord.
.


Les Dominicains Anversois ont institué la Confrérie du Rosaire à l'occasion de la victoire navale à Lépante le 7 octobre 1571, où  la flotte catholique l'emporta sur les Turcs. Cette victoire était obtenue grâce à la prière du Rosaire, instituée à l'initiative du Pape Dominicain Pie V. Ceci explique la prédilection des Dominicains pour le Rosaire. Dès lors il fut représenté de nombreuses fois dans le couvent des Dominicains à Anvers sur les tableaux, les statues, les reliefs, et surtout sur les lambris des confessionnaux. Cette confrérie existe encore de nos jours et offrit au fil des siècles plusieurs œuvres d'art à l'église Saint-Paul, parmi lesquelles, quatre toiles peintes en 1671 par Jan Peeters ayant comme sujet la bataille de Lépante, et quatre vitraux réalisés en 1971 par Marc de Groot.








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Mentions legales popup