Treasury
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








The treasury was inducted on February 2, 2001, the feast of Candlemas. Up until then the treasures of St. Paul's were not on display to the public. This precious collection partly derives from the ancient Dominican monastery and partly from the former St. Walburgis' church. Pious believers in the 19th and 20th centuries presented the most recent pieces to the Parish church.

 

Catching the eye is the authentic deed of foundation of 1276 of the first church by church scholar and Dominican Albertus Magnus. Besides precious reliquaries a lot of regard is paid to monstrances, ciborias, chalices, ceremony poles, liturgical robes, and small sculptures and ornaments for devotional pieces. The most impressive piece is a colossal rays' monstrance of the Antwerp goldsmith Joannes Petrus Antonius Verschuylen (1801-1865), 105cm high and decorated with more than 200 diamonds. On its foot St. Paul is shown thrown from his horse facing the light of God; here in the form of a wafer in the expository.  

 

All these treasures not only have an intrinsic, monetary worth, but just as much form a testimonial to the believing generations that preceded us and which left us little of their religious experiences.








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Le trèsor
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








Le trésor fut inauguré le 2 février 2001, en la fête de la Chandeleur. Jusqu'alors, le trésor de Saint-Paul n'était pas accessible au public. Cette collection précieuse vient d'une part de l'ancien couvent des Dominicains et d'autre part de l'ancienne église paroissiale de Saint-Walburge. Les pièces les plus récentes furent offertes par de pieux paroissiens au cours des 19ème et 20ème siècles.

La pièce maîtresse est l'acte authentique attestant de la bénédiction en 1276 de la première église par le docteur de l'église et Dominicain Albertus Magnus. Outre de précieux reliquaires on y trouve des ostensoirs, des ciboires, des calices, des bâtons de cérémonie, des vêtements liturgiques, des statuettes et des ornements pour statues dévotionnelles. La pièce la plus impressionnante est un ostensoir rayonnant colossal créé par l'orfèvre Anversois Joannes Petrus Antonius Verschuylen (1801-1865), haut de 105 cm et serti de plus de 200 diamants. Sur le pied figure Saint Paul, jeté à bas de son cheval à la vue de la lumière divine, représentée ici par l'hostie présente dans l'expositoire.

À coté de leur valeur intrinsèque et monétaire, ces trésors témoignent également de la foi des générations qui nous ont précédées et qui, de la sorte, nous lèguent une part de leur vécu de cette foi.  








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Mentions legales popup