History
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








As with many other European cities, Antwerp does not lack a St. James' sanctuary. In 1431, then outside the city walls, a guesthouse for Northern European pilgrims on the way to the tomb of the apostle St. James in Santiago de Compostela stood here. At the end of the 15th century a small modest chapel was constructed. Only 15 years later when it became a parish church it was substituted with the present-day church in Brabant gothic style. The architects were father and sons de Waghemakere and Rombout Keldermans. Following a universal need for recognition of "bigger and higher" the builders planned (only) one tower that (however) had to overshadow the tower of the Church of Our Lady. Eventually only a third of the approximate 165m high dream was realized; however this does not make the little houses round about any less "minuscule".

 

In the second half of the 16th century everything went its normal way: Iconoclasm, a short-lived "co-habitation" of Catholics and Protestants; Calvinistic preponderance and then a return to Catholic liturgy in 1585. The first half of the 17th century (in high baroque!) they worked on the construction of the eastern part in the gothic style. The grave chapel of the baroque master of Antwerp, P. P. Rubens, too, is gothic. A chapter was founded, a (collegiate?) group of canons; hence the name of collegiate church. The canons unite to sing the daily prayers in confraternity (in the choir stalls). Many craftsmen and wealthy magistrates were responsible for the particular opulence of furniture (a number of altars, like the one of the attorneys (see their page) Lien externe), ornaments - mostly epitaphs -, and also the materials (an exceptional amount of different sorts of marble). Apparently Pope Clement XI got wind of it and bestowed the title of a "famous church" upon St. James'; a title which is not likely to be left out here...

 

When the French had Antwerp in their grip, the customary scenario of closure and sale was avoided thanks to a priest who swore loyalty to the Republic. In fact it is thanks to this form of collaboration that St. James' church was able to keep its unbelievably rich patrimony...

 

The apostle James the Greater
James was - together with his brother John - among the first apostles who were called by Jesus, after Peter and Andrew. Zebedee and his two sons James and John were repairing their nets on Lake Tiberias when Jesus passed by. After he first called the siblings Peter and Andrew, Jesus then addressed those two brothers who quickly accepted the invitation.

Together with Peter and his brother John, James the Greater belonged to the three privileged apostles. It was only him and the other two who were present during some of the most highlights in Jesus' life, both at the Transfiguration on Mount Tabor and during Jesus' death throes on the Mount of Olives. On the other hand the two brothers were rapped over the knuckles because of their aggressive reaction towards the unfriendly Samaritans. And this was not the only reproach. Stimulated by their privileged position, James and his brother asked Jesus outright for a place of honor in heaven, much to the disgust of the other apostles. Jesus answered: "Whoever wants to become great among you will be your servant."

 

The addition "the Greater" is to distinguish him from fellow apostle James, the son of Alpheus, who then gets named "the Lesser".

 

Following the ascension of Christ James preached the gospel in Palestine together with the other apostles, more precisely in Judea and Samaria. The Epistle of James did not receive general recognition as being his till the 4th century. But probably it is only a pseudonym from later-apostolic time. Around Easter of the year 44 James was beheaded with a sword in Palestine by order of king Herod Agrippa I (37-44). James was the first of the Twelve to suffer martyrdom and - after deacon Stephen - the second of Christianity. According to a number of writings (6th-9th century) James' grave was on the Mount of Olives.

  

Santiago de Compostela

Since the end of the 7th century the story developed that James the Greater would have preached the gospel in Spain. Subsequently, to gather with some converted souls, he would have ordered the other apostles back to Jerusalem for their council in Jerusalem AD 44. The idea of an apostolic origin gave the young church of Asturia unquestioned courage at a time when it suffered fierce attacks from Islamites. Such an origin is best given a starting point in history, since the 9th/10th century, tradition has it that James would have also been buried in Spain. But how did James get "back" to Spain then? He should have been brought over by his (Iberian) students Athanasius and Theodore of Jerusalem, after they miraculously got hold of the suitable ship. They landed in El Padrón, Northwest Spain, in the province of Galicia and buried the apostle 8 miles inland.
It is only from the 9th century on that traces were to be found of the worshipping of his relics at the place of this grave in Compostela, which - according to archaeological findings - is located in an old Roman graveyard.

 

The fact that this tomb remained unknown for centuries and then honoured so suddenly, needs an explanation. The grave was forgotten because of neglect, and brought back to life by rediscovery. And look, suddenly and miraculously his grave was found "again" in the 9th century. The hermit Pelagius, staying in Amahia, received a message from angels on the whereabouts in the neighbourhood of the grave of James. The grave was discovered to supernatural gleams of light. It fell to local bishop to find the grave: a stone mausoleum. This was immediately followed by the construction of a church, the first of a series.

 

The site was named after the apostle: "Sant-iago" - Saint James. Since he was regarded as a personality of good reputation the whole region of Galicia was named "James' land" by the Vikings as from the 11th century. The addition "of Compostela" or "de Compostela" is defined etymologically with the legendary discovery of the grave because of the fantastic gleams of light, since then understood to be stars, hence "field of stars", in Latin "campus stellarum". In the Middle Ages the pilgrimage place was situated in "Finis terrae". Seen from a continental European point-of-view the area of North western Spain is indeed the "end of the world". Did not Jesus tell his apostles to spread the gospel "to the ends of the earth (acts of the Apostles 1,8)?

 

In the Middle Ages the authenticity of James' grave was unquestioned: many streamed from near and far to this place, numerous miracles were attributed to him and an impressive pilgrimage church marked his grave, later elevated to a cathedral. At the time of the critical humanism more and more doubts began to appear. Still, Pope Leo XIII did not hesitate to establish the authenticity of the holy apostle James and his companions Athanasius and Theodore in his bull Deus omnipotens (1884) after the skeletons were excavated again in 1879. But this was not the end of the critical research.

 

The iconography of James the Greater


As a saint: an aureole, a saint intensively radiates God's light of love and wisdom.


As apostle:


A book of the gospel, open or closed: Christ, "the word of God", forms both the source of inspiration of his life and the message which has to be preached by him.


A banderol with inscription: each of the apostles ought to have formulated one of the 12 articles of the Apostle's Creed at the so-called Council of Apostles in Jerusalem AD 44; James formulated the third one: "He was conceived by the Holy Spirit and born of the Virgin Mary."



Bare-foot: to prevent that thefieriness of their task be tempered by the adherence of material goods, Jesus tells his students: "carry no purse, no bag, no sandals; and greet no one on the road" (Luke 10,4).



As first (arch-) bishop of Spain: Episcopal regalia like mitre, crosier, pectoral cross, and cope.


As martyr:


A sword: the instrument of his decapitation.


A palm leaf: a martyr, who loses his life because of his faith, will have a "Joyous Entry" into the heavenly Jerusalem.


As contender against the Moors: a sword in a lifted hand and seated on a horse: in this position he would have appeared to the Spanish in the battle of Clavijo (844) and handed them victory (rarely outside of Spain).



As patron of the pilgrims: a coat around his shoulders, a broad hat and a travelling crook (though without a drinking gourd added), and, of course, the scallop.








(c) 2007 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by : ICT/ISCAM-PRODUCTION

Histoire
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








Comme dans tant d'autres villes Européennes, ce ne sont pas les sanctuaires consacrés à Saint-Jacques qui manquent à Anvers. En 1431 il y avait ici, hors des murs de la ville d'alors, une auberge accueillant les pèlerins de l'Europe du Nord en route vers la tombe de l'apôtre à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. À la fin du 15ème siècle la modeste chapelle se voit promue au rang d'église paroissiale. À peine 15 ans plus tard on entama la construction de l'actuelle église en gothique brabançon. Les maîtres d'œuvre étaient de Waghemakere père et fils, et Rombout Keldermans. Stimulés par l'universel besoin de se dépasser, les constructeurs décidèrent de se contenter d'une seule tour, mais qui se devait d'amplement dépasser celles de l'église Notre-Dame. Finalement on ne réalisa qu'environ un tiers des 165 mètres rêvés, ce qui n'empêche pas moins de rendre minuscules les maisonnettes avoisinantes.

La seconde moitié du 16ème siècle se déroule comme ailleurs à Anvers : la fureur iconoclaste ; la ‘cohabitation' de courte durée entre catholiques et protestants ; la domination calviniste et, finalement, en 1585, le retour à la religion catholique. Au cours de la première moitié du 17ème siècle (en plein baroque !) on continua la partie est en style gothique. Même la chapelle funéraire du grand-maître baroque P.P. Rubens (+ 1640) est gothique. On institua un chapitre, un groupe (collégial ?) de chanoines, d'où le titre d'église collégiale. Ils s'engageaient à chanter (dans le chœur) les prières canoniques, quotidiennement et en communauté (en chœur). Corporations et notables fortunés sont à l'origine de la richesse du mobilier (nombre d'autels, tels celui des juristes (voir leur site) ), des décorations (surtout les épitaphes), ainsi que des matériaux (une exceptionnelle débauche de marbres).


La gloire de cette église dépasse bien vite nos frontières. L'octroi du titre honorifique ‘illustre église' en 1705 par le pape Clément XI en est la confirmation. Titre encore toujours - et fièrement - porté par l'église. Impressionné par tant de splendeur, un visiteur Allemand s'exclama fin du 19ème siècle que Saint-Jacques en tant qu'église la plus riche des pays germaniques ... mériterait de se trouver à Venise. Bien que très sensible à l'honneur qui leur est fait, les Anversois préfèrent garder ‘leur Saint-Jacques' chez eux.


Lors de l'occupation Française le scénario de fermeture et de vente forcée lui est épargné. Cela grâce à un prêtre assermenté ayant juré fidélité à la République. C'est don grâce à cet acte de collaboration que Saint-Jacques a pu garder intact son patrimoine incroyablement riche...

 

L'apôtre Jacques le Majeur.
Jacques était, avec son frère Jean, et après Pierre et André, un des tout premiers à être appelé par Jésus à le suivre. Zébédée réparait ses filets avec ses fils Jacques et Jean près du lac de Tibériade, lorsque Jésus vint à passer. Ayant d'abord appelé à lui les frères Pierre et André, Jésus s'adressa ensuite a cette autre fratrie, qui s'empressaient d'y répondre.

Jacques le Majeur appartient avec Pierre et Jean, son frère, à la triade d'apôtres privilégiés. C'est ainsi que seuls eux trois étaient présents lors de quelques moments forts de la vie de Jésus. Entre autres la Transfiguration sur le mont Thabor et l'agonie du Christ sur le Mont des Oliviers.
D'autre part, ils seront réprimandés pour leur réaction agressive face à l'inhospitalité des Samaritains. Ce ne sera d'ailleurs pas la seule fois. Enhardis peut-être par leur situation privilégiée, Jacques et Jean ne se privent pas de se recommander pour les meilleures places au Royaume des Cieux, ce qui déplaira fort aux autres apôtres. La réponse de Jésus : ‘Celui d'entre vous qui veut être le plus grand, doit être votre serviteur'.


Ce Jacques est dit ‘le Majeur' pour le distinguer de son collègue homonyme, le fils d'Alphée, qui lui est dit ‘le Mineur'.


Après l'Ascension du Christ, il annonça la Bonne Nouvelle, en Palestine notamment, avec les autres apôtres, en Judée et en Samarie. Depuis le 4ème siècle on lui attribue également l'Epitre selon Saint-Jacques. Il s'agirait cependant plutôt d'un pseudonyme postapostolique. Il fut décapité en Palestine vers Pâques de l'an 44 sur ordre du Roi Hérode Agrippa I (37-44). Il devînt ainsi le premier apôtre-martyre et - après le diacre Stéphane - le second martyre du Christianisme. D'après des écrits datant des 6ème au 9ème siècles, la tombe de Jacques se serait trouvée sur le Mont des Oliviers.


Santiago de Compostella
C'est vers la fin du 7ème siècle que nait l'histoire disant que Jacques le Majeur ait évangélisé l'Espagne. Il aurait de là, avec quelques convertis, rejoint les autres apôtres à Jérusalem pour un concile en l'année 44. L'idée d'avoir une origine apostolique devait sans aucun doute insuffler du courage à l'église d'Asturies, qui subissait de plein fouet les assauts du monde musulman. Il importait de donner une justification historique à cette filiation. Dès les 9ème-10ème siècles la tradition voulait que Jacques soit également enterré en Espagne. Mais comment expliquer son retour ? Ses disciples (Ibériques) Athanase et Théodore auraient ramené son corps en Espagne. Pour cela ils auraient, miraculeusement, obtenu un petit bateau et auraient débarqué à El Padrón, au Nord-Ouest de l'Espagne, en Galicie. Ils auraient enterré l'apôtre 8 milles à l'intérieur des terres.
Les plus anciennes traces de la vénération de ses reliques sur les lieux de sa tombe à Compostelle, ne remontent en tout cas pas au-delà du 9ème siècle. Des données archéologiques indiquent que ce lieu est bien un antique cimetière romain.  

Il restait encore à expliquer pourquoi cette tombe était restée tant de siècles ignorée et méconnue. C'est par négligence que la tombe serait tombée dans l'oubli et revenue à la vie grâce à une redécouverte. Car c'est bien par miracle que, tout à coup, sa tombe fut retrouvée au début du 9ème siècle. L'ermite Pélage, vivant à Amahia, reçut des anges un message indiquant où trouver à proximité la tombe de Jacques. La tombe fut désignée par des signes lumineux surnaturels. C'est à l'évêque local que revînt l'honneur de la trouver : un mausolée de pierres. On entama très vite la construction d'une église, la première de toute une série.

L'endroit fut nommé d'après l'apôtre : ‘Sant-iago'. Sa réputation était telle au 11ème siècle, que les Vikings nommèrent toute la Galicie ‘Pays de Saint-Jacques'. L'étymologie se plait à expliquer le nom du lieu ‘de Compostelle' par le biais de la découverte légendaire de la tombe. Les signes lumineux surnaturels, par après interprétés comme étant des étoiles, donnèrent ‘champ d'étoiles', en Latin ‘campus stellarum'. Les textes médiévaux en Latin mentionnent le lieu toujours sous le vocable ‘Compostella'. Plus tard, encore au Moyen-âge, l'on situa le lieu de pèlerinage en ‘Finis terrae'. Vu d'Europe continentale, l'on pouvait, de ce temps là, considérer cette région du Nord-Ouest de l'Espagne comme étant effectivement située ‘aux confins de la terre'. D'ailleurs, le Christ lui-même n'a-t-il pas ordonné à ses apôtres de répandre sa parole « jusqu'aux confins de la terre' (Actes 1,8) ?

Au Moyen-âge la véracité de la tombe de Jacques était au-dessus de tout soupçon : les pèlerins venant de partout affluèrent en nombre. On lui attribua un tas de miracles. Bientôt une église impressionnante, par après élevée au rang de cathédrale, marqua sa tombe. Ce n'est qu'avec l'humanisme, et son esprit plus critique, que le doute commença à s'installer. Cela n'empêchera pas le pape Léon XIII d'affirmer dans sa bulle ‘Deus omnipotens' (1884) que les squelettes trouvés lors de fouilles en 1879 étaient les ossements authentiques du Saint Apôtre et de ses compagnons Athanase et Théodore. Cela n'a toutefois pas mis fin aux recherches critiques.

 

L'iconographie de Saint Jacques



En tant que saint : une auréole, un saint rayonne intensément de la lumière de l'amour et de la sagesse divine.



En tant qu'apôtre :



un évangéliaire, ouvert ou fermé : le Christ, ‘Parole de Dieu', constitue aussi bien la source d'inspiration de sa vie, que le message qu'il y a lieu de proclamer à travers lui ;



une banderole portant une inscription : chacun des 12 apôtres aurait, lors du Concile des Apôtres à Jérusalem en 44, formulé un des 12 articles de la Profession de Foi. Jacques aurait formulé le troisième article : "Jésus, qui a été conçu du Saint-Esprit, et est né de la Vierge Marie" ;



pieds-nu : afin d'empêcher que l'ardeur de leur mission ne soit tempérée par l'attachement au monde matériel, Jésus enjoignait à ses disciples : "Ne portez ni bourse, ni sac, ni souliers, et ne saluez personne en chemin" (Luc.10,4).



en tant que premier (arch)évêque d'Espagne : les insignes épiscopaux tels que la mitre, la crosse, la croix pectorale et le manteau de chœur.



en tant que martyre : 



une épée : l'instrument de sa décapitation ;



une palme : le martyre qui donne sa vie pour sa foi, fera une joyeuse entrée dans la Jérusalem céleste.



en tant que combattant les Maures : tenant une épée dans la main levée et assis sur un cheval cabré : c'est ainsi qu'il serait apparu aux Espagnols lors de la bataille de Clavijo (844) et leur aurait de la sorte procuré la victoire (iconographie particulière à l'Espagne).



en tant que patron des pèlerins : une cape, un large chapeau et un bâton de pèlerin, avec ou sans calebasse, et puis évidemment la coquille Saint-Jacques.

 








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Mentions legales popup