Cultural heritage
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








The Blessed Sacraments' Chapel

With the altar rail the quality of baroque sculptural art reaches its peak (by Willem Kerrickx and Hendrik Frans Verbruggen, 1695). The material was worked in such a natural way that you soon forgot it was sculptured marble. With suitable gestures lovable altar boy-angels worship Jesus in the form of bread and wine and recognize him as the Lamb of God.

The neighbouring stained-glass window with its splendid green; a masterpiece by Jan de Labaer (1626). In several phases it shows the story of Rudolf of Habsburg who willingly gives his horse to a priest, so that he can dispense the Last Sacraments and Communion to a dying person even faster.

 

The grave monuments

St. James' is rich in grave stones and tombs since it used to be the parish church of dignitaries in the 17th and 18th century. Other monuments were placed here in the 19th century.

Who does not have sympathy for Anna-Marie van den Berg who had a moving sculpture made as a memorial to her son, a Carthusian? The young, shaven monk looks similar to the (real) skull that he was thinking about.

What should one think of Mr. Cornelis Lantschot who thought he had self-assured rights to a place in heaven because of the wealth of alms given and his endless prayers. Did you ever see a commander sink to his knees in front of a simple enemy although possessing a strategic brain and being equipped with an impressive armoury? Indeed, the Mr. del Pico de sco, once Commander of the citadel, does not pretend to be a superior but shares the destiny of a simple mortal.

 

Some wealthy families of the 17th century built private mausoleums. The most famous one is by P. P. Rubens and his family in the eastern Our Lady Chapel, finished 1645, five years after his death. Rubens himself provided the painting of Our Lady surrounded by saints that for or the other reason never reached its actual client; so you do not have to look for portraits of family members, let alone himself, in it. The Carenna family of Milan chose St. Charles Borromeo of Milan as patron saint, pictured as the patron saint of plague patients and painted by Jacob Jordaens.

 

The pulpit
Lodewijk Willemssens (1675) had the platform supported by four female personifications. The virtue of faith, as the most exclusive one, is on the front, supported by the truth and - more concrete - by the science which searches for the truth in the philosophical field: theology. Loyal to truth, faith has to be transmitted through teaching such as preaching. Nearly completely hidden underneath the stair, instruction or teaching is holding a mirror in its hand with the attendant text: "Ziet erin en gij zult wijs worden - Look in it and you shall be wise". Through teaching one allows people to mirror themselves on famous characters, which are an excellent example in a given field. This raises the question then, too: "On whom do we mirror ourselves?"









(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Le patrimoine
Nederlands Français Deutsch English








La chapelle du Saint Sacrement
Ici la qualité de la sculpture baroque est poussée à son paroxysme, notamment dans le banc de communion (W. Kerrickx et H.F. Verbruggen, 1695). Le matériau y est travaillé avec tant de fidélité à la nature, qu'on en viendrait à oublier que c'est du marbre sculpté.  De mignons angelots-enfants de chœur y adorent Jésus sous la forme de pain et de vin. Ils le prient avec des gestes adéquats et reconnaissent en Lui le véritable Agneau de Dieu.
Tout près, un vitrail avec un paysage d'un vert éclatant, un chef-d'œuvre de Jean de Labaer (1626) conte en plusieurs phases l'histoire de Rudolf de Habsbourg. Celui-ci cède volontairement son cheval à un prêtre afin qu'il puisse arriver à temps auprès d'un mourant, pour lui conférer les Derniers Sacrements et lui apporter la Sainte Communion.


Les monuments funéraires
La richesse en monuments funéraires de Saint-Jacques découle du fait qu'aux 17ème et 18ème siècles elle était l'église paroissiale de bon nombre de notables. D'autres monuments ont abouti ici au 19ème siècle.
Qui ne compatit pas avec Anne-Marie van den Berg, qui fit ériger un épitaphe émouvant pour son fils, un postulant des chartreux ? Le jeune moine au crane rasé ressemble au (vrai) crane sur lequel il médite.
Que penser du sieur Corneille Lantschot qui, sur foi de ses aumônes généreuses er de ses prières ardentes, estime avec aplomb qu'il peut se prévaloir d'une place au ciel ? Et cet homme de guerre, stratège-né et nanti d'un arsenal impressionnant, qui tombe à genoux devant un ennemi désarmé ? En effet, le Marquis del Pico de Velasco, ancien commandant de la citadelle, n'étale plus sa supériorité, mais partage le sort commun de tous les mortels.


Quelques familles fortunées du 17ème siècle s'offrent même une chapelle funéraire privée. La plus célèbre étant celle de P.P. Rubens et de sa famille dans la chapelle Notre-Dame située à l'ouest et terminée en 1645, soit 5 ans après sa mort. Rubens lui-même avait destiné pour cette chapelle le tableau de Marie entourée de saints. Tableau qui, pour une raison inconnue, n'avait jamais été livrée à son commanditaire. N'y cherchez pas des portraits de famille, même pas le sien. La famille Carenna de Milan avait choisi comme patron Saint Charles Borromée de Milan, dépeint ici en protecteur des pestiférés par Jacob Jordaens.


La chaire de vérité
Louis Willemssens (1675) fait porter la cuve par quatre personnifications féminines. La Foi est mise en avant comme étant la vertu principale. Elle est soutenue par la Vérité en recherche d'une vérité métaphysique, la Théologie. Fidèle à la vérité, la foi se transmet par l'enseignement, comme dans la prédication. Presque cachée sous l'escalier, l'Instruction tient un miroir avec comme texte explicatif : "Regardes ici et tu recevras la sagesse". Par l'instruction on laisse les gens se mirer à l'exemplarité de personnages célèbres. La question qui nous est posée ici est dés lors: "Qui prenons-nous comme exemple?".








(c) 2019 MKA | vzw Monumentale Kerken Antwerpen
Groenplaats 21
2000 Antwerpen
Contact

Powered by ICOLEIS

Mentions legales popup